Alice Annglow: The definition of cottage chic.

One of the best things about spending summers at my family’s Janvier Road bungalow was being surrounded by antiques. I’m sure that’s where I found my love for all things old.

The Janvier Road bungalow, circa 1920s

The Janvier Road bungalow, circa 1920s

The bungalow was built around 1910, and I assume relatives and friends gave my grandfather cast-off glass, lamps and furniture to fill the small rooms.
But probably in the 1930s my grandmother must have purchased a set of Edwin Knowles’ “Alice Annglow” dinnerware. I distinctly remember an entire set of plates, cups, saucers and serving pieces on the oak hutch in the country kitchen.

When we closed the bungalow down in 1960, my brother gathered up as much as his van could hold—and several of the Alice Annglow pieces were among his haul.
I also remember seeing Alice Annglow pieces in our local 5 & 10 in the late 1960s, and I suppose I assumed they’d always be around.

But now, this delightful pattern seems to have disappeared, at least online. Perhaps people have held onto their set all these years, and I don’t blame them! Alice Annglow is a perfect pattern for those who love cottage chic.

In 1900 Edwin Knowles started a pottery in Chester, West Virginia, following in the footsteps of his father, who had founded Knowles, Taylor & Knowles—the world’s largest pottery. Edwin was committed to making the finest semi-vitreous tableware. “Crockery and Glass Journal” agreed, stating that the “weight is light, its finish the finest, its shapes graceful, its decorations artistic, and its body and quality most durable.”

It was during the 1930s that “Alice Annglow” was introduced. The Edwin M. Knowles China Co. used the famous ship backstamp, with the year and month of production shown underneath.

Typical 1930s Knowles backstamp. The first number is the year of manufacture; the second number is the month.

Typical 1930s Knowles backstamp. The first number is the year of manufacture; the second number is the month.

The company closed in 1962, and I guess that the pieces I saw in our local 5 &10 were the last of one of the Knowles’ classic patterns.

Alice Annglow is still affordable, and it worth seeking out at thrift shops and flea markets. I hope you like it as much as I do!

About sarathurston

I'm a marketing communications writer who also loves antiques and collectibles. You can find my shop on Etsy at http://www.etsy.com/shop/JanvierRoad
This entry was posted in Antiques, Pottery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts (and corrections)!

