States of Confusion: The US Glass States Series

A fixture in the china cabinet of our Janvier Road bungalow was this pretty green creamer.

US Glass States Series "Colorado" pattern, also known as "Lacy Medallion."

US Glass States Series “Colorado” pattern, also known as “Lacy Medallion. (It would make a great gift for someone named Sarah.)”

It wasn’t until many years later that I found out its name: “Colorado.” A few years after that I discovered that it was part of a series of glass patterns honoring the States of the Union.

What a great idea for a collection!
But as with much EAPG, nothing is as simple as it seems.
Perhaps that’s why so many people love and collect EAPG. There are just so many fascinating backstories that lead to wonderful debates!

The US Glass States Series remains a mystery to this day.

  • According to some experts, 42 patterns were produced between 1897 and 1903, but only 36 patterns are officially known.
  • Not all of the original 13 colonies had patterns named for them — but even that is controversial, due to often-confusing catalogues and articles.
  • Some patterns were named for states that weren’t yet part of the Union (Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii, New Mexico, Oklahoma).
  • “States” glass was made by several companies, but serious collectors count only those made by US Glass.
  • Some US Glass patterns may have been issued under different names before the companies merged with US Glass.
  • Many of the official “States” patterns also have alternate names – just to confuse you a little more.

“States” Salt and Pepper Shakers are highly collectible.
This page has a nice gallery of shakers from the states. You’ll also notice that this expert differs from the one above about which states are “official.” To me, it just makes the whole collecting thing more interesting and fun!

So what do they all look like?
Here is a list of the states I was able to find, along with links to photos. (I’ll add more as I find them, so keep checking back.)
Remember that one expert may not consider a particular state or pattern “official.” So get yourself a book, consult with an expert, start searching and enter into the fray!

(You may have to scroll down on some of the pages to find the pattern.)
Indiana (The pattern shown here is not Indiana, but many collect it as such. See how complicated it gets?)
New Hampshire
New York (Also called “Manhattan,” which, of course is not the same as Hocking’s “Manhattan.” Whew.)

US Glass States Series "Virginia" pattern #15071. Photo courtesy of Chris Cope

US Glass States Series “Virginia” pattern #15071. Photo courtesy of Chris Cope


If you want to get a sense of the challenges and excitement of EAPG, check out the Early American Pattern Glass Society on Facebook! But be careful – you may just get hooked on collecting!

Enjoy the hunt!


About sarathurston

I'm a marketing communications writer who also loves antiques and collectibles. You can find my shop on Etsy at
This entry was posted in Vintage Glass Patterns and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts (and corrections)!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s