Trendspotting: Anchor Hocking’s “Wexford” Pattern

I’m finally unpacking the glassware from my family’s Janvier Road bungalow, and I need to decide which pieces to keep and which need another good home. My rule of thumb is: If I can’t figure out how it will survive three children and two rambunctious cats, I’m probably willing to sell it.

But those patterns!
So many EPAG and American Brilliant patterns were made that your head could spin trying to identify them. And you need to identify them, because some are practically worthless while others, such as the extremely rare Libbey “Cathay” pattern, command hundreds of dollars for a single goblet!

Since I’m still a novice, I’m starting with the easier patterns. I’ll share what I know as I learn it, and that can save you a lot of work and money. (Those field guides can be expensive, and may be worth more than the one item you need to identify!)

Anchor Hocking’s Wexford is a pattern to pay attention to.
It isn’t quite old enough to be EAPG expensive, but it’s attracting more attention with every passing year – making it a worthy investment for the savvy collector. An added advantage is that it’s both vintage AND dishwasher safe!

Wexford is noted for its pattern of small diamonds on the top of a piece (that sometimes alternates with horizontal lines), separated from larger diamonds on the bottom. Some people also refer to this as a “criss-cross” pattern.

Wexford was produced from 1967 to 1998, placing it in the vintage category instead of antique. You may see it listed as part of the Fire King line — a misunderstanding that probably arose because it’s shown in Gene Florence’s “Fire King and More.”

Wexford was produced mostly in clear (crystal), but blue, ruby red, gold-banded and smoked glass were also made. I’ve seen pale green items for sale and have heard of amber, as well, but I don’t yet know if Wexford was reproduced by other manufacturers. Clear is the least expensive – the scarcity of other colors would make them more desirable for collectors.

The Wexford punch bowl set was often sold in Wal-Mart stores in the 1960s. Photo courtesy of Maryjane832, Etsy

The Wexford punch bowl set was often sold in Wal-Mart stores in the 1960s. Photo courtesy of Maryjane832, Etsy

Glassware, punchbowls, pitchers and more…but no square bowls.
The only reliable online list seems to be Replacements.com, and they list a variety of items – even those not in stock. However, no square bowl or egg plates are listed. They also tend to be way more expensive than other online shops such as Etsy, Ruby Lane, Tias and the like.

Wexford is a great pattern for new collectors.
It’s still extremely inexpensive, making it perfect for everyday use as well as a potential investment. And it’s a terrific example of why you should consider vintage glassware instead of the cookie-cutter stuff anyone can buy in a home store.

I’ve seen the toothpick holder priced from $6 to $40, but the higher range seems more suited to much older EAPG and American Brilliant glassware. I recently turned down a set of goblets for $1 each at a local thrift store! (I thought they were Wexford but hadn’t done my research yet. Drat!!!) I’ve even seen a complete collection of 72 pieces for just $200!
Wexford is old enough to have earned its place as a valuable vintage collectible – yet it’s new enough to let you have fun hunting down pieces in thrift shops and yard sales! Who knows, one day your collection could be worth a lot more – or worthy of passing on to the next generation!

About sarathurston

I'm a marketing communications writer who also loves antiques and collectibles. You can find my shop on Etsy at http://www.etsy.com/shop/JanvierRoad
This entry was posted in Antiques, Collectibles, Glass, Vintage Glass Patterns and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Trendspotting: Anchor Hocking’s “Wexford” Pattern

  1. Thomas Vaughan says:

    I ended up here because I found a set of four of what I eventually identified as Anchor Hocking Wexford Champagne/Tall Sherbet. The problem is mine are “flashed” in the same color “Ruby Red” as the Indiana Glass Diamond Point and Kings Crown thumbprint. I’m sure most of you here have shared my pain, trying to identify something. It’s 2:49 AM!! I just subscribed. Great blog!!

  2. Linda C says:

    I got my first Wexford glasses about 1969. A gas station was giving them away with a fill-up.

  3. Linda Wehrly says:

    I started collecting Anchor Hocking in 1978, my senior year in college. The local Safeway had a offer going that you could buy certain pieces at reduced prices with purchase. About May, when I graduated, they put all the remaining pieces on sale for $0.19. I have 12 each of the wine, cordials, goblet, water, juice, custard, and various pieces I’ve picked up over the years, either at Christmas time or at yard sales and thrift stores. There is a dark green that came out in the 90’s. I only saw it at walmart as a punch bowl or cake plate. I also find it in stores at high prices with a tag of “depression glass,” It WILL hold up in use by 3 kids. I can speak from experience. I have a few pieces that have chipped, but I don’t think any of them ever broke into pieces! One child picked up the small glass to drink just as I bent over to kiss him and it gave me a black eye, but did not break!!!!

  4. I even have oil lamp and hand held one!

  5. Bernice thebeau says:

    I love glass I have large collections of Wexford and Star of David only cause I find it a lot have over 80 pieces of each along with loads of other glass!’fenton being my favorite!! Anybody want to buy !!

  6. Alice says:

    I have some Wexford, from my husband’s parents. There are teeny tiny glasses, like shot glasses with a stem. Have you seen these before? What are they, exactly? Would they sell?

  7. P L O'Rourke says:

    I began collecting Wexford for my “Hope Chest” with my High School allowance money when it came out in 1968. There are only a very few pieces of which I don’t own at least one copy. I used to wait for Decembers when they would introduce a new piece as inexpensive Christmas presents or holiday dinner accessories.

  8. lORI e says:

    I’m a little late to the comments, but I have a huge collection of Wexford – more than 200 pieces easily. There are a few odds and ends that I’m missing – hopefully one day I’ll happen upon them. It all started with a fruit bowl from my grandmother…heh.

  9. cindylepp says:

    I started collecting Wexford about 15 years ago….I have rarely broken a piece…it’s very heavy duty and I still use it EVERYDAY! I love it!

  10. Pingback: Go vintage for a truly fun, old-fashioned holiday! | Janvier Road: Where old becomes exciting and new

  11. a.h.kiphen says:

    To answer any questions you may have about Wexford, contact Phillip Hopper at the Anchor Hocking Glass Museum in San Antonio. He knows more about Anchor Hocking than anyone else I know.
    A. H. Kiphen
    Ohio Glass Museum

I'd love to hear your thoughts (and corrections)!

