What is a “rare” item – and how much is it worth?

I’m sure anyone who is interested in selling vintage items comes across this problem on occasion. I know I have.

I recently tried to find a fair selling price for a 1977 Fleetwood Mac promotional mirror promoting their “Rumours” album. It’s just a little thing, measuring about one foot square. You’d think it would be everywhere, given the eternal popularity of the band.

Rare 1977 Fleetwood Mac "Rumours" Promotional Mirror

Rare 1977 Fleetwood Mac “Rumours” Promotional Mirror

But I couldn’t find the mirror anywhere, let alone asking or selling prices. One rock memorabilia site in the United Kingdom had sold their only mirror. But they weren’t saying how much, no matter how cleverly I worded my email inquiry to them. I couldn’t find another one even on sites dedicated to Fleetwood Mac memorabilia!

Eventually I found another mirror owner who asked about it in a forum. That person mentioned that he’d been offered £37 by a dealer in the UK. Since that was the only clue I could find, I used it as a guide.

Promotional items tend to get tossed after the owner tires of them, and perhaps that’s what happened to most of these souvenirs. Either that, or the owners don’t want to part with them. However, I found it just as difficult to find similar mirrors for other bands (I have a Led Zeppelin mirror as well) – so perhaps they’re ALL rare!

The lesson? If you own one, don’t trash it.

Ultimately, a vintage or antique item is worth what someone is willing to pay for it. Vintage Fleetwood T-Shirts – worn – can go for as much as $300! I think that’s a terrific tribute to one of the most popular bands ever.

About sarathurston

I'm a marketing communications writer who also loves antiques and collectibles. You can find my shop on Etsy at http://www.etsy.com/shop/JanvierRoad
This entry was posted in Collectibles, Promotional and Advertising Items and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What is a “rare” item – and how much is it worth?

  1. sarathurston says:

    What a great find, Miranda!

  2. Miranda says:

    I just bought this at an antique store for $32.

  3. Pingback: What’s a fair price for a vintage or antique item? | Janvier Road: Where old becomes exciting and new

  4. pam2626 says:

    Rumours was the best album ever!

I'd love to hear your thoughts (and corrections)!

